Research Deans Planning and Implementation Group

The Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation (VCRI) is the chief research officer for Rutgers University–New Brunswick. The VCRI has established a planning and implementation group of research deans as a consultative and administrative cohort to advise and implement new research and training projects and procedures.

This group of research deans and senior development experts share insights and best practices from their decanal and research units with the VCRI. Together, this group is charged with the goal to establish a more efficient and effective research infrastructure at Rutgers–New Brunswick. An additional goal is to align the research initiatives at Rutgers–New Brunswick with federal, state, industrial, and foundation funding opportunities, and help to enhance the research footprint at Rutgers. The VCRI, his office, and the research deans’ group will closely coordinate the research administrative functions from the flagship Rutgers–New Brunswick with the research infrastructure and program activities led by the senior leadership and staff of the Office of Research and Economic Development.

2018 Group Members

  • Jean Baum, Ph.D., Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Education, School of Arts and Sciences (Programming and strategy advisor)
  • Mark Aakhus, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Research, School of Communications and Information
  • Clinton Andrews, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Planning and New Initiatives, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
  • Clark Chinn, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Research, Graduate School of Education
  • Anda Cytroen, Director of Research Development, School of Engineering
  • Denise Hien, Ph.D., Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology; Director, Center for Alcohol Studies
  • Bradley Hillman, Ph.D., Director of Research, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences, New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station
  • Douglas Kruse, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Management and Labor Relations
  • Yaw Mensah, Ph.D., Executive Vice Dean for Faculty and Research, Rutgers Business School
  • Henrik Pedersen, Associate Dean for Academic Programs, School of Engineering
  • Ramesh Raghavan, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Dean for Research, School of Social Work

Special Invitees (Area Deans; RBHS Dean)

  • Lori Covey, Ph.D., Area Dean of Life Sciences, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Ingrid Fulmer, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Student Affairs, School of Management and Labor Relations
  • Céline Gélinas, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Research, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
  • Ronald Ransome, Ph.D., Area Dean for Mathematical and Physical Sciences, School of Arts and Sciences
  • David Vicario, Ph.D., Area Dean for Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Michelle Stephens, Ph.D., Area Dean for Humanities, School of Arts and Sciences